Jagged Edge – a pic from the Antarctic


A couple of weekends ago i met a woman, Margret, who wanted to buy one of my images from my exhibition, Frozen Lenses.

Today I delivered that image to her and as well as having an early lunch with her and a glass of wine (at 11am) I learnt a lot about perception.

Without her knowing the name of the image, this is what she told me it meant to her.

“From the original grandiose shape I can see the beauty evolving and how years of living leaves characteristic marks. In the deterioration process the wild jagged edges look like the deep folds in an old persons face or body”

What a beautiful way to describe my image. She told me those words were a reflection of how she felt about herself. I can’t believe she used the words ‘jagged edge’ – that is what I named my image within minutes of shooting it.

I told her I had a completely different slant on it.

“I spotted this iceberg from far away, it looked wild, yet alone and incomplete. As we approached it I saw the beauty and imperfection in its shape. It totally reminded me of me – wild with jagged edges.

What are your thoughts on this image? I’d love to hear them. Please leave your comments below.

Enjoy my image – Jagged Edge.Jagged Edge

2 thoughts on “Jagged Edge – a pic from the Antarctic

Leave a Reply

