Photo of the day….The ride of my life


“You can sit centre front” said the pilot.

I couldn’t get into the chopper quick enough and I tried not to smile too much.

It was my first helicopter flight and I was just a little bit excited 🙂

Due to weight distribution in the cabin, this photographer had to sit in the best seat in the house 🙂

We were flying from Las Vegas, Nevada to the Grand Canyon, Arizona taking in Lake Mead, the Hoover Dam and finally landing in the magnificent Grand Canyon.

I loved every moment of that flight but NOTHING prepared me for the view. The feeling of being high above the world and taking in some of the most magnificent scenery I’ve ever laid eyes on was truly memorable.

At maximum water capacity, Lake Mead is the largest reservoir in the United States. It is situated on the Colorado River and crosses the states of Nevada and Arizona. Formed by the Hoover Dam, it boasts an impressive 410 square kms of surface area, and measures approx 152 meters at its greatest depth.

Drought has caused the capacity of Lake Mead to drop significantly over the past decade.

I love this photo. Look at the colour of that water!! It was so beautiful…

I love the browns and ochre colour of the landscape and the obvious mark left by the receding shore line..

Have you flown in a helicopter? I’d love to hear your story and what you saw on your adventure.

Thanks to Mat from Maverick Helicopters

Please feel free to contact me in the comments section below or on Facebook , twitter  or pinterest.

 

2 thoughts on “Photo of the day….The ride of my life

  1. An absolutely fabulous photo of a part of the Canyon not often witnessed by the visitor! Love the ‘accidental’ contrast of the very deep blue of the water and the erstwhile water line! Yes, have had a few helicopter rides in Hawaii and Fiji: as a pretty nouveau traveller remember being quite impressed by flying around Diamond Head on Oahu!! Well, one has to begin somewhere 😀 !

Leave a Reply

