Mt Tomah Botanical Gardens & things I saw from the road….


I haven’t been to the Mt Tomah Botanical Gardens for years. Last Sunday we decided to take a leisurely drive up into the Blue Mountains to revisit these beautiful gardens…

Mt Tomah Botanical Gardens are situated on the Bells Line of Road via Bilpin. Its about a two hour drive from Sydney and really worth the effort.

The views over the blue mountains are gorgeous, lots of clear, crisp, mountain air (in fact a bit too crisp – it was only 8 degrees!) and that beautiful blue haze…hmm…I love it..

The gardens are beautiful, lots of levels and styles and some really magnificent flowers.

We stayed for lunch and wandered around the entire garden…of course I took lots of pics. 🙂

On the way home I spotted an old sawmill complete with lots of old trucks and machinery. These trucks look like someone just parked them, got out and they have never been driven since….I love the rust, the colours and textures and all the old bits and pieces..

The sawmill still has the saw and a piece of wood on the conveyor belt ready to be sawn….

I wonder what happened here? What closed the place down so suddenly?

Our last stop was Kurrajong…St Gregory’s Church was just asking to be photographed in the late afternoon light… 🙂

I hope you enjoy the pics…

Please leave your comments below  – I’d really love to hear them – or connect with me on Facebook , twitter  or pinterest.

2 thoughts on “Mt Tomah Botanical Gardens & things I saw from the road….

  1. Christine: you keep on taking me ‘home’ and giving me goosebumps at unexpected moments! You absolutely captured the area, both Mt Tomah and Kurrajong. My ‘first married family’ [how else to put it 🙂 !] owned the largest apple farm on Bells’s Line of Road at Bilpin for many decades: this was our weekend retreat, especially in spring and autumn. And we had many friends around Bell with its magnificent private gardens also . . . Especially love the bare tree with clouds behind – moody, mysterious, evocative . . .

Leave a Reply

