Photo of the Day…All we are saying is give peace a chance….


The United Nations headquarters resides on international territory in New York City.

Representatives of the earths 7 billion people meet here to discuss and decide issues of international law, security, human rights, social justice and the achievement of world peace.

The Knotted Gun, or non violence symbol was designed by Swedish artist Carl Fredrik Reuterswärd. It was originally created as a memorial tribute to John Lennon and his vision about a world less violent.

This bronze sculpture of the knotted gun was placed outside the United Nations building in 1988.

It has been replicated at over 30 other destinations around the world and stands to remind us of the continual need to strive for peace and non violence.

It’s a fitting reminder isn’t it?

Please leave your comments below  – I’d really love to hear them – or connect with me on Facebook or twitter 

4 thoughts on “Photo of the Day…All we are saying is give peace a chance….

  1. Well, babe, you have me with tears in my eyes! In spite of many insufficiencies as far as UN is concerned, have been a firm supporter/worker for of UNICEF etc forever. . . . That does not excuse being ignorant or forgetful [whichever!] of the ‘Knotted Gun’. Your photo caught me: tho’ well balanced photographically, it has a ‘darkness feeling’ about it. For me, as having been born in the NE European country of Estonia, mood did not improve on seeing the blue-black-white of our flag to the left of the trigger. Yes, it IS a fitting reminder!! Please forgive me if you caught me with historical soul feeling and not photographical expertise . . . .

    1. Hi, you’ve pulled me right up as well…photographs are SO powerful and can have many different meanings to many people…I agree, it does have a dark sober mood to it….I actually felt like that when I was taking the photograph…I hope your feeling okay now. Thanks for your honesty and well written comments..regards Chris

      1. Just going off ‘to make myself better’ – Chris, for all it’s worth: have just put your photo on as a computer background [please say if that is incorrect] and sent it to a whole lot of friends who would feel the way I do . . . Thanks heaps for the feelings . . .

      2. That is absolutely great. Im not happy that this pic has bought up uncomfortable feelings for you BUT as a photographer I know how powerful a photo can be…feel free to share this blog post as well….thanks so much for your comments, they mean a lot to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

