Photo of the day…Statue of Liberty New York


The Statue of Liberty was a gift from the French to the Americans to celebrate the 100th birthday of America’s Independence.

For the many immigrants that came from Europe to New York, the statue of Liberty was the first image they had of the USA.

Her crown has 7 spikes, which symbolise the seven seas. In her left hand she holds a tablet with the Declaration of Independence. Her right hand is held high with a torch which symbolises enlightenment. Don’t you love it?

I spent a long time looking at her from the front. It is a fantastic structure, very powerful and majestic. I didn’t stand there too long as it was a freezing New York day 🙂

I always enjoy the different perspective when I photograph an object or person from behind. It often means the viewer has to take a little longer to work out the meaning of my photograph.

I’d love to see any photographs you’ve taken from behind…send them to me at bernasconiphotography@gmail.com and I’ll feature them on my Facebook page!!

If you are enjoying these blog posts, please follow my blog or keep up with all thats happening with me on Facebook or twitter.

One thought on “Photo of the day…Statue of Liberty New York

Leave a Reply

